Register now on PaFlyFish.com! Login
HOME FORUM BLOG PHOTOS LINKS

Sponsors

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

VALLEY CREEK
From feasterville pa
im new at fly fishing about 6 mounths and im going up to valley creek in the next 2 weeks. could anyone tell me what fly is best for now cause i looked on the htch chart and nothing is really hatching. much appreciated!

Posted on: 2010/10/3 14:44

Re: VALLEY CREEK

From Norristown, PA
Iv only ever caught a few trout on valley and they were only on scuds and zebra midges.

Posted on: 2010/10/3 22:06

From Gettysburg
Flytier,
While I'm not a Valley Creek regular, if it were me, I'd have some small earth tone nymphs - we're talking Hare's Ear or Pheasant Tail type nymphs in olive or brown colors and in fairly small sizes, mainly #16 down to #20. Also, some terrestrials - this means surface flies imitating ants, beetles, or crickets. A #14 black beetle is a very versatile fly and will catch fish all summer and up thru Oct. Finally, if the stream is high or cloudy, try a black Wooly Bugger. If you've never fished it, Valley is a small stream with wild browns. It's not an easy stream to catch fish so don't get frustrated if you get skunked. Valley has skunked me more than once. Good luck.

Posted on: 2010/10/3 22:14

From Chester County
Quote:

Fishidiot wrote:
Flytier,