Rods... what's the difference?

convert

convert

I am a beginner, though I've fished for a year+ with a Cabela's Cahill 5wt. 9ft rod. I've found that with larger than limit trout, this rod does everything I want it too. As a beginner, I'm mainly fishing for stocked trout, though I've caught some trout that are obviously small than a stocked trout (but not brook trout).

I found later in the season or with smaller fish, I couldn't detect the strike. My nymph (Prince Nymph for this example), would be at the of the line and start curving in the current towards me. I would pick up on the nymph and intend to "back cast" it further up current, when I would find my nymph hadn't left the water at all. Instead it would be in the gullet of a small fish.

Is this an issue with the Cahill? I've read most rods are actually a size or two heavier than what the manufacture sells it by. Is it a problem with heavier rods in general being less sensitive to bites/smaller fish? I want to feel a fish bite. I'm used to bass fishing with a G. Loomis and taunt line transmitting ever piece of rubble or every blade of grass hitting my jig/tube/texas rig, and I'm looking for that same sensitivity in a fly rod. Would I better detect strikes from a lower weight (4-2wt) or from a more expensive/better modulated fly rod?

Also, I have most of my success on a Wooley Bugger because I fish it like it's a Rappala (and I've had a lot of success doing it that way). If I wanted to pick up the delicate art of Nymphing (without a strike indicator), would I be better served with a longer and lighter weight rod? Or is it just a issue of what I expect to feel out of my fishing rod vs. what I can actually feel from a value brand.

Also, if a 5wt. is a good all around fly rod, what does that mean? In what way is 5wt. better for fly fishing than any lower or higher weight rod? I understand the weight is in reference to casting fly line, but what does it have to do with presentation, or hook setting power?