Reel Selection

P

psummrnl

As a beginner, am I correct in assuming that the quality of reel will not make a huge difference for me? I'd personally rather put my money into a good line and a decent rod rather than a reel. Would this generalization be the correct way of looking at things? To me, the reel simply holds the line. I understand their advantages in durability, weight, drag, etc in the various reel options. I'm actually considering going old school and simplistic and getting a Flueger Medalist. I'm not trying to drop a significant amount of money. Those who are seasoned, what are your thoughts?

psummrnl wrote:
As a beginner, am I correct in assuming that the quality of reel will not make a huge difference for me?

I'm not an expert, but I'll tell you that it doesn't make much of a difference at any level, really. Especially for trout. It holds line, it balances the rod. That's about it.

psummrnl wrote:
I'm actually considering going old school and simplistic and getting a Flueger Medalist. I'm not trying to drop a significant amount of money. Those who are seasoned, what are your thoughts?

Cue jdaddy mocking me, "omgomgomgomgomg!"

There's not a fish species alive that hasn't been taken on a Medalist. If it meets your price, asthetics, and balances then why not?

Some people even prefer them to more expensive toys.

Assuming you're not a trophy hunter, or going after great lakes stuff, you are largely correct.

The biggest thing to think about with the reel is how it balances the rod. A reel that is too heavy or light for the rod will throw the rod's action off. For instance, one of the reasons for the interest in Medalists has to do with the renewed interest in glass and bamboo rods. Those heavier rods don't do well with modern reels, which are made for graphite sticks. Likewise, those heavier reels may not do well with a light graphite rod.