Practice

Stagger_Lee

Stagger_Lee

So now that I have some knowledge on the sport .. when I have a lil free time I am going to practice casting in my yard, technique & comfort as well as some target practice.

My question is; when I finally head out to the water, as someone who hasn’t fished, what should I practice? I don’t want to overwhelm myself with 10+ different things to work on.

What would you guys recommend, when I’m at the local lake/or creek the first few times, as the important aspects to work on to get comfortable with fly fishing?

I would recommend two things. First casting timing. Get your 10 to 2 timing down and let the rod do the work. Slow yourself down. Too many people cast very fast and that makes timing tough. Second, start to understand "drag". Use large dry flies for top water and a strike indicator for subsurface. Don't worry about fly selection because if you are uisng the right fly but it is dragging (unless its a caddis) you won't get a fish. If you cast and drift drag free, you very well could get takes on any fly you choose.

My two cents, now I need to go to the bank.

Don't laugh, but learning how to wade quietly and effectively.

Most people trod into the stream like a buffalo and spook every fish within 200 feet and if you spook them you can't catch them. The better wader you are, the less fish you will spook and the closer you can get to them. More opportunities at closer distances ultimately means higher success rates.

What does 'drag' mean?

Think I will start on the shore and purchase some waders in a few months. I do get the spooking aspect as that is something TheOutsider (Kirk) spoke a lot abt on Sat when I was with him on Sat.

Drag is the unnatural pull of the line/leader against the fly by the current. The idea of a drag free drift (as explained by Foxgap) is to have the fly moving at the same rate as the bubbles in the current. Thats the easiest way for me to conceptualize it anyway.