Register now on PaFlyFish.com! Login
HOME FORUM BLOG PHOTOS LINKS

Sponsors

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

Not a beginning fly fisher, but...

Hello!

I'm not a beginning fly fisher but I AM new to this forum. I'm a United Methodist Pastor on Sabbatical and I'm just about to begin my first fly fishing vacation in Pennsylvania. The sad thing is, I grew up in WV and actually lived in PA for 6 years and never once fly fished in this great state. My bad!

I will be heading to central Pa (Aaronsburg) tomorrow (Sunday, 30 May) with my wife. I have no specfic plans - yet. I plan to get in tomorrow afternoon, get checked in and find a fly shop and go from there. I tend to prefer smaller, easily waded streams with a bit of solitude rather than standing arm-in-arm at some of the more famous streams. Any streams with good access you'd recommend?

Thanks, in advance for any info.

Pat

Posted on: 2010/5/29 20:06

Re: Not a beginning fly fisher, but...
From Gettysburg
Pat,
The area you'll be visiting has a wealth of trout fishing opportunities. You'll be close to Elk Creek which is a small limestoner with good populations of wild fish. Just down the road a few miles is Penns Creek (although this is more in the category of stream you might prefer to avoid). A few miles south of you in the town of Coburn is an excellent fly shop called the Feathered Hook. Jonas and crew can get you the latest and greatest with regards to insect hatches and flies you might need as well as some tips on local creeks.
Good luck with your trip.

Posted on: 2010/5/29 22:30

Fishidiot;

Thank you for the reply. The Feathered Hook is at the top of my list for places to visit to get started. I'm looking forward to my time in Pennsylvania and can't wait to get started...

Pat
P.S. I apologize for "nudging in" on the beginners page but didn't see a "new to the forum" page. Thanks again for your reply.

Posted on: 2010/5/30 8:23

From Westmoreland County (near fairgrounds)
Pat,