No Success with trout!!

P

PATroutMan

I am new to flyfishing and cannot find any success with catching trout. I can catch bass and bluegill no problem on poppers but I feel like that is an entirely different type of fishing. When it comes to trout, haven't hooked one yet. I live around york pa so I fish breeches, and codorus trout area mostly. If anyone has tips on where to go, flies to use, tactics, etc. that would be a huge help!

PATroutMan wrote:
I can catch bass and bluegill no problem on poppers but I feel like that is an entirely different type of fishing.

It is indeed different - but not that different. It is always good to start with bass and sunfish and your success shows you're doing some things correctly.

With respect to trout, the period from about Nov-Feb is the toughest time of year to catch them. Stick with the game and focus mainly on dead drift nymph fishing and streamers. Come springtime when the creeks are full of stocked trout, you will likely find it pretty easy to catch trout.
In the meantime, it wouldn't hurt to continue to spend time on the water and your experience will grow. Hiring a guide or taking an FF class that will get you on the water with an experienced angler would also be good too.

Im still learning myself and I still catch more sunnies and panfish then trout but I did decent on trout after discovering the bead head hares ear nymph and als rat. Two very simple flies to tie. Now I have to resist the urge to only fish them.

I just started catching trout on small streams. I am using a copper john fly. I started by reading forums, books and online articles and then going out and applying what I learned. Here are a few things to consider:

Find a stream with trout in your area.
Find out what's working for other fly fishers.
Learn about where the trout are in the stream. In my case I found a deep pool with some trout in it.