Newbie Here from Bucks County

P

Pat

Folks, glad to here. Life long fisherman and have decided to give Fly Fishing a try and really looking forward to it. I live in Bucks County along the Delaware River and spend most of my summers kayaking from Yardley to Trenton. Most of the time I venture to the islands on the river looking for smallies. I just purchased my first Fly Fishing rod which is a 5wt TFO Left Kreh Finesse combo which came with a Cabela's Pretige Plus reel. Looking to practice my casting on the river and than start to explore some of the streams that this beautiful state has to offer. Someone mentioned that Hickory run state park is only about a hour and a half away and has some nice streams. I look forward to meeting everyone and learning alot.

Welcome Pat!

We seem to be getting a ton of Bucks cty folks here in the Newbie forum.

Live in Nthhpton twsp (5 mins from Newtown) and almost purchased a number of homes in Yardley. Also picked up (last month) LeftyKrey Finesse and love it. Can I recommend ..

paff-instructional-jamboree--aka-newbie-jam

many thanks Lee!!! Great to have a nieghbor on here. Thanks for the instructional get together. That sounds like a lot of fun with some great lessons. I will certainly keep that in mind. Hope to meet at some point down the road!!!

Welcome Pat, this is a great site and you will learn a lot on here.

thanks for the warm welcome!!!!! Have already learned a lot from just reading over some of the other posts!!!!!

Welcome aboard Pat, it's a good place to be. I noticed that you had said you were looking to practice casting on the river. I'd like to suggest practicing on the grass and getting your timing and stroke down before dealing with currents while at the same time figuring out your new fly rod. Just a thought.

Thanks for the advice and practicing first on land is probably the right call!!!!!!!!! Appreciate it!!!!!