New to FF

L

Limestone_Eddy

Hey everyone! I just joined the forum and I am looking forward to learning how to fly fish. I have always been interested in FF and looking forward to being part of a great sport. I just had a lesson on basic casting, reading water, and learning the basics of nymphs,caddis, and mayflies.

What is a basic rod, reel, and line setup for trout and bass? Im looking for something not overly expensive since im new to FF.

Would appreciate the feedback. :)

Welcome Eddy

Generally a 9' 5 weight rod is a good start but it depends on what kind of fishing you'll be doing. For small creeks shorter is better. For bass a 6 wt or heavier. But for an all purpose rod a 5 wt is ideal.

As for the exact setup that's really a matter of personal preference. Try different ones if you can. Orvis sells an "Encounter" outfit for $169. ll Bean, Bass Pro, Cabelas sell outfits of all price ranges. Redington Crosswater is a pretty good starter outfit.

There's always the option of buying everything seperately but an outfit is the easiest way to start.

Good advice from Cathy.
Although for a first buy, all around rod - I would recommend the 8' 6" length 5 weight. Be just a little easier to manage on smaller streams.
I've looked at the encounter outfits - and they do seem like a great buy for the money.

As has been said something in a 9' or 8' 6" would be about an ideal length rod for starters. I would lean towards the 8' 6" myself, as dryflyguy mentioned, it will be a little easier for you to manage. Since you mentioned trout and bass as being your targets, I would also go with the 5 weight.

As for what setup to get, there are a ton of good outfits out there and it can be overwhelming for the beginner. My recommendation is to find a good fly shop near you and go in and talk with the guys there. Most shops ive went to will gladly let you test cast a few rods to see which one suits you/feels best.

I appreciate all your comments and insight! Thank you!