New Rod in hand and a blue gill christened it!

Pauly

Pauly

After all my posts and questions about fly lines and rods, I went to Mainstream outfitters (Daves sporting center) in Doylestown today.

I bought last years model of the Orvis Clearwater II 7'6"-3wt with an Orvis Battenkill Disc Drag Fly Reel loaded with backing and Orvis WF #3 F

for $225

I went straight to the East Branch perkiomen and fished from the bank because I left my Hip waders in my shop.

Two things I have to say about fishing from the bank:
1. I hate it (as a novice I find every root and twig with my fly)
2. I didn't care because I loved the rod.

I only had 15 minutes to get the line wet. So after a brief learning curve and fumbling around, I watched a few white bellies flash and then the bluegill hit. I had to go right after but I can not wait to get out this weekend.

My old setup which is a 10year or older pflueger #7 rod that I bought with absolutely no idea what I was doing.

The difference to me is like night and day.
Now I need to pick up some new flies to go with my new rod.

Nice, good luck with it.

That is great Pauly! I'm not ashamed to say I really enjoy catching bluegill on fly. It must have been a bast on the 3wt. And that #7 might be worth revisiting as a bass rod when weather turns hot.
Mike.

FrequentTyer wrote:
That is great Pauly! I'm not ashamed to say I really enjoy catching bluegill on fly. It must have been a bast on the 3wt. And that #7 might be worth revisiting as a bass rod when weather turns hot.
Mike.

Exactly what i plan to do with that #7 rod. Im putting #8 line on it and hitting the Delaware when it gets warm.

Nice story, I have a 4wt that is a good time with gills and small streams. I wonder though if you'll notice the gap between the 3wt and the 7wt. If you fish good sized creeks for trout you might notice some limitations on the 3wt.