Register now on PaFlyFish.com! Login
HOME FORUM BLOG PHOTOS LINKS

Sponsors

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

« 1 2 (3)

Re: Need Euro Nympher Mentor

From Clearfield
I'm no expert but.. Tight lining is all about feel. The sooner you can feel the fly the better off you're going to be.

Posted on: 3/13 9:41

From New Castle, PA
Quote:

csoult wrote:
I'm no expert but.. Tight lining is all about feel. The sooner you can feel the fly the better off you're going to be.

While you can often feel the takes with tight-line set ups, you shouldn't rely on feel when fishing the flies. If you can feel the weight of the flies, that usually means you are leading them too aggressively, or the flies are too heavy, or both. Feedback should be primarily visual and strikes usually can be seen before felt. There are exceptions of course. You can jig streamers on a tight line and actively leading flies is an established method. However, there is a lot of misconception about "tight line" techniques, the amount of tension on the leader being one, and the weight of the flies being another. While removing slack and sag in the leaders is beneficial and important, you can over do it and hurt your presentation. The goal should be removing slack, not bossing the flies or trying to maintain constant contact via feel. There is a narrow margin between those things. If you think these methods work well when you are fishing a lot weight and keeping to your leader truly "tight", trying backing off on both a little and I think you will find that your effectiveness increases yet again.

Posted on: 3/13 18:31

From Burke VA
Quote:

csoult wrote:

Kev beat me to the punch but you need to know when to "break" contact too. You can still detect strikes even when slowing down drifts with no lead. If you're feeling the fly the entire time you're going too fast, especially if you can't use weight.

Posted on: 3/13 19:15