Need Euro Nympher Mentor

wbranch

wbranch

While I am by no means a novice when it comes to fly fishing I have zero knowledge about Euro nymphing. I've heard so much about it and how effective it is I figured if I learned the skills and techniques required I could learn something new and increase my catch rate.

I feel I am a good student and have light line rods but none longer than 9'. I'm willing to buy whatever lines or leaders are needed and will tie whatever flies are recommended. I just ordered those 60 degree jig hooks in #12, 14, and 16 and four different colors and sizes of slotted tungsten beads.

The only limiting factor is I hate the cold weather and wouldn't want to actually fish until the air temperature at least 52 degrees.

Well, Wbranch. Not really a lot to it. Depends which style. Euro, Czech, French.

Euro usually consists of nothing but mono, on reel and water. Sighter, piece of hi vis, to detect strikes. tippet ring. then fluorocarbon.

check out lance eagen. youtube set up.

2. Czech usually 71/2 to 9ft. high vis butt and generally 2 drops. fish 3 flies Close and deep is the key. Flies generally are different colored caddis larve, pupa. weighted. beadhead and weight.

3. French.--can be same as above or general usage single nymph.
coils are used as the indicator. to make coil. 1st take about 2 feet hi vis line, put a perfection loop on each end. get a nice big long bolt and wrap hi vis line around bolt, not to overlap. secure both ends with ty straps to keep line unwinding.

boil for 5 minutes. take out a put in freezer. when unwrapped the line memory will be coiled and stay coiled.

when the coil stretches a little. fish on.

these methods have been blown out of proportion recently. everyone has a bigger, better, method. improved.