Education - Lessons

CaptainHook

CaptainHook

I've been fishing for over 50 years but fly fishing is brand new to me. I'd like to get some lessons, classes, etc. in the how to part of fly fishing. I need help with casting and the various casts. I can get by in the back yard but throw in wind or impediments and I need some tips.

I'd like to know the best way to work a stream under X circumstances. Right now, I just guess and use my bass fishing experience.

I don't have much of a clue to the hatch thing but I assume I'll start to learn that on the water when I grab some of them. But, what type of fly do I use, wet, dry, nymph, or something else.

There must be some good schools, classes, that I could take. I tend to like small classes or one-to-one. If any of you teach and want a new student, I'm interested. I've always been a proponent of finding an expert and learn directly from them. I'm still a bit hampered with a back issue so I can't drive long distances to go to a school or fish (right now).

I really appreciate this site and everyone's help. I'm looking forward to getting out and meeting more of you in-person.

Since nobody responded, I'll give a quick outline of what I've done already to learn on my own. I use the Orvis learning center and YouTube for videos. I've bought and read most of the books that folks on the forum have recommended. I got and use The Accelerator to get a feel for casting at home. Orvis has the PractiCaster. Should I use one during the winter and when I can't get out?

I know Orvis has the school in Farmington but a 4 hour drive is more than my back can do right now so that's out until next year. I can find lots of schools on the Internet but they are all out of geographic reach until I can drive/ride more than a couple of hours at a time.

I was hoping to find someone local who has a school or teaches. Paid - of course. I'm pretty sure a name was mentioned at the Newbie Jam this year but I did't meet whoever was mentioned.