Catch and Release Best Practices

forksfishing

forksfishing

Hello All,

I've been a newbie for a few years now due to limited opportunities to get out however, I know have some more time on my hands and I have had some recent success with fly fishing.

My goal is to catch/release all of the time even on the stocked "kill" sections that I fly fish. I recently had some problems releasing the trout that I hooked rather deep and I'm looking for additional "best practices" to follow.

First I'm bending my barbs down flat against the hook and I have forceps to help in releasing the fish. I have a net that I picked up from LL Bean I think (black net) that was supposed to be easier on the fish but now I'm starting to ones that look more like a rubber compound should I be using this?

On a dry fly when the fish takes the fly do you pause for a second or two before setting the hook or should I set it immediately to hopefully prevent the hook from going too deep?

I try to touch the trout as little as possible and always make sure my hands are wet however, last week I had two trout that were hooked rather deep. I had trouble removing the hook even with the forceps and the trout were bleeding. I was unable to revive them so I'm looking to try and minimize this as much as possible.

I'm trying to not play them too much and I will make note of future water temps but is there more I should be doing?

Thanks in advance for any best practices, tools, techniques that you use!

Hmmm! Every once in a while I deep-hook trout on dry flies, but is kind of rare. I can't see there is anything you can do to prevent. If they inhale it that deep, then it is what it is. Barbless helps, so keep that up. Otherwise, you can try to work on your reaction time, but my experience is that if you really do delay too long, you are more likely to miss the fish than to deep-hook it.

Forgive yourself is my best advice.