Best way to fish multiple nymph setups

kyle1248

kyle1248

Guys I am pretty new to fly fishing. Was just wondering which was is better to tie a dropper when fishing two nymphs, tying off the bend in the hooks or tying off the eye in the hook. I have had some small success with tying the second nymph off the eye of the hook but was wondering what you preferred. Thanks!

I always get it tangled up when I fish it off the eye...but I can't say I remember catching any fish on the first fly with the second tied off the bend of the hook...maybe 1. I am not sure

kyle1248 wrote:
Guys I am pretty new to fly fishing. Was just wondering which was is better to tie a dropper when fishing two nymphs, tying off the bend in the hooks or tying off the eye in the hook. I have had some small success with tying the second nymph off the eye of the hook but was wondering what you preferred. Thanks!

Either way is fine, from the eye or bend. Many times I tie a dropper rig (Czech Style) to fish 2 or more nymphs. I believe they drift more naturally.

Here are some common multi fly rigs:

http://stevenojai.tripod.com/nymph.htm

I wouldn't mind fishing a dropper rig, but a standard leader is just too versatile to fish anything else. My universal nymphing leader is as follows

leader-tippet-shot(if necessary)-weighted or unweighted fly-tippet to bend-unweighted fly(usually a wet or emerger)

NativeBrookie11 wrote:
I always get it tangled up when I fish it off the eye...but I can't say I remember catching any fish on the first fly with the second tied off the bend of the hook...maybe 1. I am not sure

I used to feel the same way about catching fish off the first fly I think it's a confidence thing. At first you'll notice one on the front hook every once in a while. It will become more common as time goes on.

Trying lengthening or shortening the tippet to the second fly. Or even adjusting the tippet to the first fly.

Little tweeks like these have really improved my hook up rate.