Register now on PaFlyFish.com! Login
HOME FORUM BLOG PHOTOS LINKS

Sponsors

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

« 1 (2)

Re: #$@%! KNOTS!

From Souderton PA
Don't feel too bad Auriemma. At least you will remember to check you knots for the next week or so. I have been tying cinch or improved cinch knots for about 40 years and still can't remember to check the darn things. I lost a nice fish on Sunday that I swear united the knot.
Do any or you guys use a non-cinch to tie the fly on? I played with the Orvis knot and the Davey knot. The Orvis knot is nice, but for some reason I can never remember how to tie it when I'm on the stream. The Davey knot is very simple, but there is some trick to tying it consistently that I have not yet figured out.
Mike.

Posted on: 2011/5/2 16:29

From Lehigh Valley
Depending on if you used Monofilament or Flourocarbon the clinch may or may not be the knot for you. I know for a fact that Florocarbon has a tendency to break far more often when used with standard clinch,use a improved clinch its way better but be sure to really soak the knot before cinching down for flourocarbon seems to hvae a harder time cinching than mono,also a palomar is another floolowed by a San Diego Jam knot.
One thing i think hurts a angler more than anything is bad knot execution and also not apllying enough moisture beffore you cinch.If you want you can also use plain old chapstick to lube your knots,try that i think youd be surprised.
Tight Wraps & Tight lines
Rick Wallace

Posted on: 2011/5/2 18:44

From Southwest, Pa
The only time I find necessity for improved clinch knots is when I'm swinging/stripping wets, dries, streamers with smaller tippet (4-6x)...

last night, a nice hatch of small green caddis came off. I was pulling an x-caddis under water after the skate, stripping, and lost three flies right after one another. Switched to an improved clinch and problem solved.

Posted on: 2011/5/3 12:43

-Art Lee

From florida